CAFx International Manifesto Relay 2023

Copenhagen Architecture Festival (CAFx) invites on stage researchers and practitioners that contributed to the International Manifesto Relay, a provocative collection of 45 manifestos that call architects from around the world to respond to the most urgent question in the field: How Can Architecture Contribute To Social And Environmental Change?

The short debate-talks will focus on the key questions raised by the International Manifesto Relaypublication, introduced by Martha Thorne, author of the publication’s preface, and chaired by Josephine Michau, founder and director of Copenhagen Architecture Festival. The session is moderated by Federica Sofia Zambeletti, founder and creative director of KoozArch.

The International Manifesto Relay encourages us to rethink the role of the architect in the scope of environmental, economic and technological transformations on a global scale, to reflect on the means currently available to become drivers of change. It mobilizes our field to embrace the lived experiences of urban and rural communities, but also to speculate on what a sustainable future for the planet looks like, and to declare how architects will contribute to achieving it.

A powerful tool to put forth ideas, commitments, agendas, visions for a better architecture, from Malaysia to Mauritius, from Portugal to Japan, the manifestos function as a starting point for topical conversations and exhibitions.

“We believe this participatory form of communication that reaches across positions, perspectives and geographies is necessary for the ongoing process of collective formulations of architecture’s contribution to the fulfillment of the UN SDGs. We really love the expansion of the collective approach of the Manifesto Relay, bridging across industry and research, and we are certain that it will present a powerful call for action and unison.”
Mette Ramsgaard Thomsen and Martin Tamke, the UIA Scientific Committee


More speakers to come…


Skip to content