Pre-event 1:
    Resourceful Architecture

    Pre-event 1: Resourceful Architecture
    Pre-event 1: Resourceful Architecture

    Resourceful Architecture

    8 December at 7am – 2pm EST / 1pm – 8pm CET / 8pm – 3am China

    The symposium ‘Resourceful Architecture’ examines approaches to resourcefulness in architecture; how sustainability challenges the foundations of our material practices and how they can change with it.

    We ask how rethinking waste through circular design paradigms can challenge our ideas of ‘end of life’ and engineer new materials with bespoke lifespans that actively engage and correspond to building performance. We question how computational design processes can aid the management of recycled resource stocking, support processes of de-fabrication and optimise the strategic deployment of resource. We challenge our assumptions of how materials are sourced probing how bio-based and synthetically grown materials can lead to new agri-and silvicultures of resource procurement.

    ’Resourceful Architecture’ is the first pre-event in the UIA2023CPH Science Track-series of six pre-events diving deeper into the complexities of each of the six Science Panels leading up to the UIA2023CPH World Congress event in Copenhagen July 2 – 6, 2023.

    You are warmly welcome to attend and also to circulate the link amongst colleagues, students and others to whom the event could be relevant.

    Presentations by: Dirk E Hebel, Carlo Ratti, Sabine Oberhuber, Phil Ayres, Comunal Taller, Alexandre Monnin, Anna Denell, Philip Yuan, Mette Ramsgaard Thomsen

    Moderated by: Martha Thorne

    Sign up for our newsletter

    Would you like to receive news about our programme, events, key notes, interviews with leading profiles in sustainable architecture and more?

    ©2022 All rights reserverd

    This website uses cookies to improve your experience, learn more here.

    Got it.